Pergamenschikow Prize Awarded to Furiant Quartett and Trio uBu

The Boris Pergamenschikow Prize for Contemporary Chamber Music for 2016 will be divided between the Furiant Quartett of Berlin and the Trio uBu of Cologne, announced the jury on Thursday afternoon. The prize carries an award of €10,000 and is accompanied by a special prize for the award of a composition commission. The prize for the best lecture presentation, which is endowed with €2000, went to the Daphnis Quartett. This year for the sixth time, the competition was organized by the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin in conjunction with the Hanns Eisler School.
The Prizewinners’ Concert with the Furiant Quartett and the Trio Ubu will take place on November 4 at 6 PM in the Krönungskutschen-Saal. 

The Furiant Quartett (Stefano Mesaglio, Vlad Popescu, Gregor Hrabar, Nika Švarc) was founded in Klagenfurt, Austria in 2011. Since 2013, the members have studied at the Hanns Eisler School in the classes of Eberhard Feltz and Tim Vogler. 

The Trio uBu, a piano trio, was founded in autumn of 2015 to prepare the trio “Présence” for a concert organized by the Bernd-Alois-Zimmermann-Gesellschaft. Anna Neubert, Esther Saladin, and Christoph Stöber are students at or graduates of the Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (Cologne), where they have received artistic guidance from Prof. David Smeyers and Barbara Maurer. 

The Daphnis Quartett was founded in the fall of 2013 by students at the Hanover University of Music, Drama, and Media. These four young musicians are natives of the Netherlands, Spain, and Germany, and study in Hanover with Prof. Oliver Wille (Kuss Quartett).

In the context of the competition, young chamber music ensembles perform a selected work composed after 1950 and deliver a lecture on the piece and its contemporary context. This year’s participants selected works by Helmut Lachenmann, Wolfgang Rihm, Bernhard Lang, Reena Esmail, Nino Rota, David P. Graham, Tigran Mansurjan, Jörg Widmann, and Bernd Alois Zimmermann. 

The prize-winning ensemble is invited to award a composition commission that is endowed with €2000. Previous competitions resulted in new works by the composers Sarah Nemtsov, Matan Porat, Ana Sokolović, Johannes Schöllhorn, and Mirela Ivičević . 

The prize money for the best lecture presentation in the amount of €2000 is financed by the Pro Musica Viva Maria Strecker-Daelen Stiftung. The composition commission, to be awarded by the prize-winning ensemble, in the amount of €3000, is being sponsored in 2016 by the Klaus-Dieter Huehns Stiftung. 

This prize and competition, initiated by the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Hanns Eisler School, honors the memory of the cellist and instructor Boris Pergamenschikow, whose last position was a professorship at the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin. The prize’s patrons are András Schiff and Tanja Pergamenschikow.

Participating ensembles:
Daphnis Quartett, Hannover, Elouan Quartett, Stuttgart, Furiant Quartett, Berlin, Gutfreund Trio, Frankfurt am Main, Kallos Ensemble, Karlsruhe, Notos Quartett, Berlin, Trio Saar, Saarbrücken, Trio Ubu, Cologne

Prof. Claudio Bohórquez, professor for cello, Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin
Prof. William Forman, professor for trumpet, Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin
Prof. Dr. Daniel Göritz, honorary professor for concert guitar, Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin
Prof. Reinhard Latzko, professor for cello, Vienna
Eckhard Roelcke, author/journalist, Berlin
Prof. Iris ter Schiphorst, composer and professor of media composition, Vienna
Martina von Brüning, Society of Friends and Patrons (without voting rights)