Boris Pergamenschikow-Prize

For the sixth time the 2016 competition was organized by the Society of Friends and Patrons of the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin in conjunction with the Hanns Eisler School. Winner of this year Boris Pergamenschikow Prize for Contemporary Chamber Music are the Furiant Quartett of Berlin and the Trio uBu of Cologne. The prize for the best lecture presentation went to the Daphnis Quartett. News

This competition, initiated by the Society of Friends and Patrons, rewards the efforts of outstanding chamber musicians.

The competition is held every three years. Entrants can be chamber music ensembles from trios to nonets from music universities throughout Germany, Switzerland and Austria. The only condition of the ensemble lineup is the inclusion of at least one cello.
As well as a performance of one or more works from the period post-1950, each ensemble prepares a presentation on the piece, outlining its historical context and relation to other genres.

The winning ensemble is awarded the Boris Pergamenschikow Prize worth 10 000 euros. There is an additional advancement prize of 2000 euros for the best oral presentation.
The prizewinning ensemble also receives the special prize for a composition commission, conferred with 3000 euros.

Boris Pergamenschikow (1948-2004) was one of the most versatile, internationally renowned cellists and teachers of his field, most recently at Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin. In his artistic and pedagogical work, the conveyance of wide-dimensional music was a central concern. The Boris Pergamenschikow competition addresses this far-reaching aspect of his work. It serves to awaken interest in and dedication towards contemporary music and promote the understanding of its artistic roots and connections.

Boris Pergamenschikow
Birthe Bendixen


Daphnis Quartett Hannover
Elouan Quartett Stuttgart
Furiant Quartett Berlin
Gutfreund Trio Frankfurt am Main
Kallos Ensemble Karlsruhe
Notos Quartett Berlin
Trio Saar Saarbrücken
Trio Ubu Köln

JURY 2016

  • Prof. Claudio Bohórquez
    Professor für Violoncello, Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin
  • Prof. William Forman
    Professor für Trompete, Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin
  • Prof. Dr. Daniel Göritz
    Honorarprofessor für Konzertgitarre, Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler Berlin
  • Prof. Reinhard Latzko
    Professor für Violoncello, Wien Eckhard Roelcke, Autor/Journalist, Berlin
  • Prof. Iris ter Schiphorst
    Komponistin und Professorin für Medienkomposition, Wien
  • Martina von Brüning
    Gesellschaft der Freunde und Förderer (ohne Stimmrecht)
Furiant Quartett (Foto: Warehouse Collective)
Trio uBu (Foto: Maria Shykyrinska)
Boris Pergamenschikow-Preis (Foto: HfM)