School news



Orchestermusiker und Dirigent im Gespräch

The Critical Orchestra® celebrates its 20th anniversary

For the 20th edition of the Critical Orchestra®, professional orchestral musicians from all over Germany will come together at the Hanns Eisler School…

read news

Vier junge Musiker vor Säulen mit Instrumenten

Pacific Quintet receives Ensemble Prize of the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern

The Pacific Quintet has been awarded the Ensemble Prize at the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 2023. The ensemble prize is endowed with 10,000…

read news

Professor Martin Spangenberg

Prof Martin Spangenberg appointed Vice-Rector

Following his election by the Extended Academic Senate of the Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin on 13 December 2023, Prof. Martin Spangenberg has…

read news

Junge Sängerin vor Orchester im Konzerthaus

Eisler alumni in opera ensembles

In recent months, five alumni of the Voice Department have been successfully engaged as permanent ensemble members at opera houses and theatres in…

read news


Emanuel Sint wins the Fanny Mendelssohn Award

The 19-year-old bassoonist and Bachelor student Emanuel Sint from Prof Rainer Luft's class has been awarded the Fanny Mendelssohn Prize. With his…

read news

Drei Musiker und eine Musikerin vor einer Wand

Viatores Quartett wins Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University Competition

The Viatores Quartet won first prize, the Mendelssohn Prize, at this year's Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy University Competition. The string quartet…

read news

junger Mann lächelnd

Vincent Ong and Robert Neumann win the Ravel Piano Advancement Award

Two piano students from Prof Eldar Nebolsin's class were successful in the competition for the newly founded Maurice Ravel Piano Prize in Duisburg:…

read news


Suyeon Lee Deputy Principal Flute of the Frankfurt Radio Symphony

The 26-year-old South Korean flautist and Eisler graduate Suyeon Lee has successfully completed her probationary year as deputy principal flautist in…

read news

Vera-Lotte Boecker and David Herrmann win theatre prize DER FAUST

Soprano and Eisler graduate Vera-Lotte Boecker has been awarded the German Theatre Prize "DER FAUST" for her role in the opera "Bluthaus" by Georg…

read news

Dayoon You

Dayoon You wins 2nd Grand Prize of Long-Thibaud Violin Competition 2023

South Korean violinist Dayoon You, a master's student in Prof Kolja Blacher's class, has won the second prize of 20,000 euros at the Long-Thibaud…

read news