Academic Senate

As the central administrative body of the Hanns Eisler School of Music, the Academic Senate (AS) discusses and makes decisions concerning policy and academic questions that affect the school as a whole. The Academic Senate consists of professors, academic staff, students, and other employees, who are elected at four year intervals by school members. With the exception of meetings concerning personnel an appointment matters, all sessions of the Academic Senate are public.

Tasks of the Academic Senate

  • To comment on drafts of the budget plan
  • To propose the establishment, modification, or elimination of organizational units
  • To establish or eliminate degree programs
  • To enact statutes
  • To establish guidelines for teaching, study, and examinations; to define procedural arrangements for school examinations across disciplines; as well as to issue opinions on study and exam regulations for the various departments
  • To adopt resolutions on school development plans and equipment planning as well as to define objectives regarding the appointment of instructors
  • To adopt resolutions concerning guidelines for the promotion of women and planning for the advancement of women
  • To issue opinions on proposals for appointments by the departments
  • To issue decisions of fundamental import concerning research and the promotion of young artistic talent
  • To adopt regulations concerning the utilization of school facilities
  • To determine enrollment figures
  • To coordinate the activities of the school’s departments and other facilities
  • To adopt resolutions concerning the selection of school directors as well as vice presidents and prorectors
  • To accept responsibility for other academic affairs which affect the school as a whole in the event that no other body has jurisdiction


Academic Senate 

ChairSarah Wedl-Wilson
ProfessorsClaudio Bohórquez
Martin Bruns
William Forman
Jörg Mainka
Wolfgang Redik
Claus Unzen
Birgitta Wollenweber
1st Deputy: Tabea Zimmermann
2nd Deputy: Sanja Fister
3rd Deputy: Christine Schäfer
4th Deputy: Kolja Blacher

Academic Employees

Patrick Braun
Anita Keller
1st Deputy: Alexander Fleisch
2nd Deputy: Gunther Leonhardt
StudentsJonas Kämper
Carl-Frederik Zeh
1st Deputy: Irina Bogdanova
2nd Deputy: Lara Meyer-Struthoff
Additional EmployeesJohannes Hellmann
Judith Linow
1st Deputy: Christine Lüderitz
2nd Deputy: Veronika Schneider

Extended Academic Senate


Stefan Drees
Stewart Emerson
Ulf Wallin
Antje Weithaas
1st Deputy: Stephan Picard
2nd Deputy: Maria Baptist
3rd Deputy: Anna Korondi
4th Deputy: Byron Knutson

Academic EmployeesAnja Freytag
Deputy: Behrang Noipour
StudentsRaquel Alves
avid Marquard
1st Deputy: Johannes Jost
2nd Deputy: Nikita Swiridow
Additional EmployeesPeggy Bertaux
Deputy: Karin Kickbusch