Vokalensemble auf der Bühne
Stimmgruppe der Celli im Sinfoniekonzert
Schlagzeuger*innen auf der Bühne
Pianistin spielt Klavier

Department A: Voice/Music Theatre, Direction

read more

Department B: Strings, Harp, Guitar

read more

Department C: Wind, Percussion, Conducting, Correpetition

read more

Department D: Piano, Composition, Theoretical Studies

read more

Teaser 1 english

Tabea Zimmermann, Kirill Gerstein
MO 10. OCT 2022 | 19:30 H KKS

Benefit concert with Tabea Zimmermann and Kirill Gerstein

The violist Tabea Zimmermann and the pianist Kirill Gerstein, professor of the Eisler, play together in an exclusive benefit concert for the newly founded Center for Chamber Music of the university.

read more

Kirchenschiff Innenraum
FRI 07. October 2022 | 19 H St.Marienkirche

Opening concert with RIAS Kammerchor Berlin and Justin Doyle

At the beginning of the semester, Justin Doyle conducts a joint workshop concert with the university choir and orchestra. The program includes "Gloria" by Francis Poulenc and "Tryst" by James MacMillan.

read more

Gesangstudentin und Tänzerin mit weißen Tüchern auf einer blau beleuchteten Bühne
SAT-THU 30. October 2022 | Studiosaal

Maurice Ravel: L'enfant et les sortilèges - L’heure espagnole

The American director Rebekah Rota is staging Ravel's one-act operas "The Spanish Hour" and "The Child and the Spells" in a university production with Eisler students.

read more

Teaser 2 English

Yubeen Kim

Yubeen Kim wins ARD Competition 2022

The South Korean flautist Yubeen Kim was awarded first prize at the ARD competition in Munich. In 2022 he passed his Konzertexamen with Prof. Benoît Fromanger.

read more

Fassade des Standorts Neuer Marstall bei Nacht
WED 12.10.2022 | 18 H KKS

Semester Opening

The university community is cordially invited to the opening of the new academic year and winter semester 22/23!

read more

Orchester auf einer Bühne vor einem Bildschirm mit blauem Film
THU 13.10.2022 | 18 H Hörsaal 151

Lecture Series: Composing for Film

The scientific lecture series of this winter semester comprises twelve contributions. It provides insights into the diversity of film music and always takes place on Thursdays.

read more

Teaser 1 English

Orbituary for Dr. Hartmut Puls

We mourn the loss of our former university teacher, who built up the subject of physioprophylaxis and university sports at the Eisler and laid the foundation for the Kurt Singer Institute for Musicians' Health.

read more

Junger Mann am Flügel

Jeonghwan Kim Laureate of the Sendai International Music Competition

The Korean pianist Jeonghwan Kim from Prof. Konrad Engel's class was awarded fourth prize and an audience prize at the 8th International Music Competition in Sendai, Japan.

read more

Mann in Bühnenbeleuchtung

Étienne Haan receives the Oldenburg Composition Prize 2022

The Eisler graduate Ètienne Haan from the class of Prof. Hanspeter Kyburz has won the Oldenburg Composition Prize, which includes a commission for a composition and a world premiere.

read more

Teaser 2 english

Vincent Vogel

Vincent Vogel Principal Timpani of the Berlin Philharmonic

Eisler alumnus Vincent Vogel will take up his position as principal timpanist with the Berlin Philharmonic for the 2022/23 season. Since 2019 he was principal timpanist in the Staatskapelle Halle.

read more

Junge Frau mit Geige im Treppenhaus

Anne Luisa Kramb winner of the German Music Competition

The violinist Anne Luisa Kramb, student of Prof. Antje Weithaas, is the winner of the German Music Competition 2022. The Elaia Quartet, Lauriane Maudry, Susanne Geuer and Michaela Špačková were awardet scholarships from the music competition.

read more

Rodolfo Barráez

Rodolfo Barráez Associate Conductor in Singapur and Dudamel Fellow at Los Angeles Philharmonic

The Venezuelan master's student is the new Associate Conductor of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra and Dudamel Fellow of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra in the 2022/23 season.

read more

Teaser 3 English

Drei Musiker mit Geige und Cello

Trio Orelon wins International Chamber Music Competition "Franz Schubert and Modern Music"

The piano trio with Eisler alumnus Marco Sanna won first prize at the International Chamber Music Competition and a special prize in Graz. It is artistically supervised by Prof. Jonathan Aner.

read more

Musiker sitzend im Frack in der Philharmonie

Peter Fleckenstein Principal timpani at Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne

Peter Fleckenstein, student of Profs. Franz Schindlbeck, Rainer Seegers and Biao Li, won the audition as principal timpanist in the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne and will begin his probationary period there in the 2022/23 season.

read more

Suyeon Kang mit Geigenbogen

Eisler alumni permanent members of the Potsdam Chamber Academy

Eisler alumni Suyeon Kang and Maia Cabeza, as concertmaster and section leader of the second violins, and Florian Bensch, as bassoonist, have been permanent members of the Kammerakademie Potsdam since 2021.

read more

Teaser 3 English

Festspielhaus Bayreuth hinter einem Blumenbeet

Wagner for children: Lea Willeke stages "Lohengrin" as a children's opera in Bayreuth

This festival season, the Bayreuth Festival is presenting Richard Wagner's "Lohengrin" as a children's opera, staged by music theater director and Eisler student Lea Willeke. The premiere is on July 25 in Bayreuth.

read more

German Tcakulov appointed to a professorship in Karlsruhe

The Karlsruhe University of Music has appointed the violist and Eisler graduate German Tcakulov to a professorship in viola, from the winter semester 2022/23. German Tcakulov studied at the Eisler with Prof. Tabea Zimmermann. He has been a member of the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra since 2018.

read more

Junger Mann mit Bratsche

Third prize at the Tokyo International Viola Competition for Sào Soulez Larivière

The French-Dutch violist Sào Soulez Larivière, who has been studying in the class of Prof. Tabea Zimmermann since 2017, has won third prize and three special prizes at the 5th Tokyo International Viola Competition 2022.

read more

Teaser5 english

Sächsische Bläserphilharmonie
DO 23. Juni 2022 | Studiosaal

Sächsische Bläserphilharmonie

For many years there has been a unique cooperation between the Saxon Wind Philharmonic Orchestra and the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music Berlin with its special course of study Hizeito (Historical and Contemporary Composition).

read more

Inmo Yang

Inmo Yang wins International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition 2022

South Korean violinist Inmo Yang has won 1st prize at the International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition 2022 in Helsinki. Inmo Yang is a master's student at the Eisler with Prof. Antje Weithaas and Suyeon Kang.

read more

Junge Frau im Flur

Fatma Said „Artist in Residence“ at Konzerthaus Berlin

The Egyptian soprano and Eisler alumna Fatma Said will be "Artist in Residence" at the Konzerthaus Berlin for the 2022/23 season. Fatma Said studied at the Eisler with Prof. Renate Faltin.

read more